NHMRC Fellowship Grants announced

AKTN’s own David Johnson and Yeoungjee Cho receive Fellowship grants. Congratulations! 

We are thrilled to announce AKTN’s Prof David Johnson and Dr Yeoungjee Cho have each received a Fellowship Grant through the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC).

Prof David Johnson was awarded the Practitioner Fellowship that will allow him to invest in promising lines of enquiry to support people with CKD as well as their carers. He emphasises, “One in 10 Australians has CKD, which puts them at higher risk of cardiovascular disease and cancer, and a higher likelihood of an earlier death. CKD also has a negative impact on people’s lifestyles and relationships”.

Prof David Johnson and Dr Yeoungjee Cho. Credit: Tania Atkins (Metro South Health).

Dr Cho will use her Early Career Fellowship to target important areas of Peritoneal Dialysis (PD) practice in order to improve the uptake and continuation of PD for those requiring dialysis. PD is a cost effective method of performing dialysis and unfortunately it is underused despite it being able to offer greater quality of life and patient satisfaction than Haemodialysis (HD).

We congratulate both Prof David Johnson and Dr Yeoungjee Cho on their NHMRC award and wish them well in their efforts to help those living with CKD.

For more, please see https://www.nhmrc.gov.au/